About BR Raceway.gif (1043 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Schedule.gif (981 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Points.gif (956 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Class Rules.gif (999 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) News Archive.gif (1016 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Photo Gallery.gif (1014 bytes)

Return to Home 

Back to News Archive.gif (1086 bytes)


Kevin Dupont tops field of 17 UMP Modifieds while 
Eric Courville claims Late Model victory

Baton Rouge, Louisiana (July 4, 2004) -  Kevin Dupont shared heat wins in UMP with Jerry Cassano but didn't share the lead in the feature as he led every lap and took the win by a straightaway over Noah Daspit.  Todd Rogers in his first start in a modified finished a strong third ahead of Roy Schnebelen, and Michael Crowe, who rounded out the top five.

The late model feature took off with a three wide battle for the lead with heat winner David Knight, Eric Courville and Michael Sibley battling for the lead.  Sibley got the lead but then spun and brought out a yellow and earned a trip to the rear.  From that point forward Courville was the rabbit being chased by the hounds.  Courville held them off the hounds and scored another win for the season.  David Ashley took second, while  Chris Wall took over third on the last lap leaving Kennith Crowe four and Kevin Watts fifth.

Pure Stock Eric McAllister and Justin Bowman took the heat wins. Chris Crowe's car jumped the concrete in two and brought out the yellow. McAllister and Bowman pulled away from the field after the restart. McAllister broke Bowman's winning streak and took the win followed by Justin Bowman, Fred Hastings, Scott Womack ,and Melvin Buecker.

Street Stock heat wins were shared by the Simeon brothers, Matthew and Mark. Matthew took off on the green followed by Jason Jackson. Matthew Simeon pulled six car lengths ahead of Jackson, who had his hand's full with Mark Simeon trying to takes second from him.  Matthew Simeon sailed to another victory.  Jason Jackson secured second with  Mark Simeon third, Randy Jamison fourth, and John Edmonston fifth.

Donald Collins heat winner took the lead on the first lap of the Super Stock feature. Robert Morel moved into second and tried to chase Collins down. The other heat winner Kenny Hafferty hit the front wall and brought out the yellow.  Collins went on to take the checkered flag with  Robert Morel second, Jonathan Clayton third, Davin Bates fourth and rounding out the top five was Jr. Dupont.

Matt Holmes and his father Greg Holmes took heat win in Cruiser class. Matt Holmes and T. Nolar took the feature win.

Story by Sue DuRoy

About | Schedule | Points | Class Rules | News Archive | Photo Gallery | Contact Us

Baton Rouge Raceway, 1998-2002. All rights reserved.

Designed and Developed by Internet Advantage


SUPR News:
Check out the Latest News on the Southern United Professional Racing Series

SUPR Results

SUPR Points