About BR Raceway.gif (1043 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Schedule.gif (981 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Points.gif (956 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Class Rules.gif (999 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) News Archive.gif (1016 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Photo Gallery.gif (1014 bytes)

Return to Home 

Back to News Archive.gif (1086 bytes)


Michael Dupuy tops Baton Rouge Sprints once again!



Baton Rouge, Louisiana (August 28, 2004) - Michael Dupuy claimed another O'Reilly SUPR Sprint Car victory at Baton Rouge Raceway but this time it wasn't due to race long domination.  Instead, Dupuy took over the lead with just three laps to go when race leader Butch David lost a motor on lap 21, brining out the only caution of the race.  Dupuy then went on to take the win followed by Shane Morgan in second, Michael Herrington in third, Wendell Magnon in fourth and Mark Tate rounding out the top five.  18 O'Reilly SUPR Sprint Cars were on hand. Butch David, Shane Morgan and Michael Dupuy won the heat races.


In Mississippi Modified action, Scotty Covington, Kevin Dupont, and Jerry Cassano all shared heat wins. At the start, Covington and Dupont ran wheel to wheel until Dupont pulled into the lead. Dupont held the lead half the race until Covington got by. Jerry Cassano moved into second and tried hard to get Covington but was unsuccessful. Covington scored his first big win followed by Jerry Cassano, Kevin Dupont, Michael Blount, and Greg Freeman.


Jay Blair earned the pole for the Late Model feature when he shared heat wins with Jimmy Noland. On the first lap, something happened to Noland  and he fell off the pace. On the restart, Blair blasted into the lead like a rocket and never looked back. Blair sailed to the win followed by Kevin Watts, Donald Watson, Jason Polite, and on the last lap Elizabeth Halpin Smith, who had been suffering with wrong tires, got under two other cars making them three wide then pulled by them and finished fifth.

Justin Bowman and Barry Coatol took the heat wins for pure stock. Bowman grabbed the lead on the start followed by Jason Truax. Truax pulled beside Bowman but Bowman held on. After a big pile up it was Bowman first and Eric McAllister second. McAllister drifted high off four and Melvin Buecker took over second while McAllister fell back through a whole army of cars. Bowman went on to scored another win. Melvin Buecker second, Troy Dean third, Mike McDempsy fourth and Cliff Welch fifth.

Rocky de Gruy and Jimmy Stephens took the heat wins for street stock heats. Going into turn two pole sitter Jimmy Stephens, Jason Wilks, and Rocky de Gruy ran three wide for the lead. By turn three they all piled up in to the concrete wall. de Gruy went in the pit and changed a flat under yellow and came back and tagged the rear. On the restart Bill McDonald had the lead. Jason Jackson who started in the rear was on a charge to the front picking off his competitors one by one till he reached second and then went after the leader McDonald. They ran side by side for the lead then Jackson pilled into the lead and took the checkered. McDonald finished second. Rocky de Gruy after getting the flat on the first lap in the three wide pile up went from last and charged to the front to finish third. Jody Vicknair fourth, and 9 finished fifth.


About | Schedule | Points | Class Rules | News Archive | Photo Gallery | Contact Us

Baton Rouge Raceway, 1998-2002. All rights reserved.

Designed and Developed by Internet Advantage


SUPR News:
Check out the Latest News on the Southern United Professional Racing Series

SUPR Results

SUPR Points