About BR Raceway.gif (1043 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Schedule.gif (981 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Points.gif (956 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Class Rules.gif (999 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) News Archive.gif (1016 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Photo Gallery.gif (1014 bytes)

Return to Home 

Back to News Archive.gif (1086 bytes)


O'Reilly SUPR Sprints kick off 2004 season 
at Baton Rouge Raceway on April 10th!


Baton Rouge, Louisiana (April 9, 2004) – The O’Reilly SUPR Sprint Cars kick off their third season of racing this Saturday night at Baton Rouge Raceway.  And to spice things up, Baton Rouge Raceway has posted a bonus for the O’Reilly SUPR Sprint Cars.  If 32 cars sign in for the race, Baton Rouge Raceway will pay $2,000 to win, the highest purse ever d for an O’Reilly SUPR Sprint Car race.


The third season for the O’Reilly SUPR Sprint Cars will be exciting with Michael Herrington Jr. back to defend his championship.  Herrington, from Prairieville , Louisiana recorded 6 victories en route to the title.  He’ll be challenge by a strong field of competitors headed by 2002 Butch David.  David from Geismar , Louisiana struggled last season as he was unable to find victory lane but he’s poised to return to winning form in 2004.  Three drivers who each recorded their first O’Reilly SUPR victories in 2003 will be gunning for the title in 2004.  Terry Vidrine from Slaughter, Louisiana really stepped up his program in 2003 and he hopes to recover from an early season flip at Baton Rouge Raceway during a weekly racing program on March 20th.  Shane Morgan from Gulfport , Mississippi will be seeking to carry his late season momentum forward in 2004 with his eye on his first full-car championship after claiming 6 kart titles in his young career.  Harold Henderson is another driver who secured his first O’Reilly SUPR victory last season and he’ll be eyeing the title in 2004 with a new race car set to debut Saturday night.


Adding to the mix will be an influx of East Texas racers headed by the father and son team of Kent Lewis Jr. and Sr. from Humble, Texas who have stated their intentions of competing this weekend.  2003 Cajun Sprinter Association Champion Lane Whittington from Denham Springs, an occasional SUPR competitor last year will be on hand hoping to secure his first SUPR victory. 


A pair of local drivers Chris Buhler from Baton Rouge and Mark Tate from Denham Springs will lead a contingent of rookie contenders competing for the 2004 J.D. Byrider/Wynn’s Rookie of the Year title.


Baton Rouge Raceway is located north of Baton Rouge – take I-110 to exit 6, then 1 mile east on SR 408, then 6 miles north on SR 67 (Plank Road).  The action all gets underway at 7:00 p.m.   Gates open at 4:00 pm .  For more information contact Greg Holmes at 225-275-5040.


The O’Reilly SUPR Sprint Car Series would like to thank its 2004 sponsors: O’Reilly Auto Parts, Hoosier Tire Southwest, Brodix, Afco, Trailer World, Wynn’s, Fuel Safe, Hinchman Uniform, Saldana, Powder Coat Specialist, Frankland Racing Supplies and J.D. Byrider.


Click here for more info

About | Schedule | Points | Class Rules | News Archive | Photo Gallery | Contact Us

© Baton Rouge Raceway, 1998-2004.  All rights reserved.

Designed and Developed by Internet Advantage


SUPR News:
Check out the Latest News on the Southern United Professional Racing Series

SUPR Results

SUPR Points