About BR Raceway.gif (1043 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Schedule.gif (981 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Points.gif (956 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Class Rules.gif (999 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) News Archive.gif (1016 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Photo Gallery.gif (1014 bytes)

Return to Home 

Back to News Archive.gif (1086 bytes)


Ward and DeGruy repeat while Hebert, McAllister take first wins of season

Baton Rouge, Louisiana (April 2, 2004) - James Ward returned to victory lane at Baton Rouge Raceway for the second time in as many weeks as his new Larry Shaw Race Car seems to have been the cure he was seeking.   Ward shot to the lead from the start and ran away with the victory over point leader Kevin Watts, Eric Courville, Bill Gordon and Randy Blanchard.  Watts and Gordon took the Late Model heat race wins.


Shane Hebert and Joel Couvillion shared the heat race wins in UMP Modified action and then battled it out for the lead in the feature with Shane taking the win.  Couvillion held on to 2nd ahead of Danny Hebert, Scotty Covington and Kerry Vicknair.


Rocky DeGruy recorded his 3rd Street Stock victory of the season and his 2nd in as many weeks as he battled by heat race winner Randy Jamison and Tommy Cannon early to take the lead and the eventual win with Cannon hanging on to 2nd followed by Jason Wilks. 


Eric McAllister ended Justin Bowman's early season win streak and grabbed the Pure Stock points lead with his victory.  McAllister moved by fellow heat race winner Melvin Beucker at the start and held off a mid-race challenge from Scotty Womack to take the win.  Shannon Graham made a late charge to grab 2nd after Womack got collected in a tangle with a lapped car that also included Tracy Talbert.  Tim Moran claimed 3rd at the checkers.


About | Schedule | Points | Class Rules | News Archive | Photo Gallery | Contact Us

Baton Rouge Raceway, 1998-2004.  All rights reserved.

Designed and Developed by Internet Advantage


SUPR News:
Check out the Latest News on the Southern United Professional Racing Series

SUPR Results

SUPR Points