About BR Raceway.gif (1043 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Schedule.gif (981 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Points.gif (956 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Class Rules.gif (999 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) News Archive.gif (1016 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Photo Gallery.gif (1014 bytes)

Return to Home 

Back to News Archive.gif (1086 bytes)

Baton Rouge Raceway finally underway as Ward and Vidrine headline 

Baton Rouge, Louisiana (March 28, 2003) - James Ward continues to impress in the Mitch Tassin owned 3J Late Model as he came from mid-pack to take the win.  Jerry Bevis sat on the pole for the late model feature Jay Blair and Bevis battled for the lead. James Ward from the middle of the field picked off his competition one by one till he took over the lead and then went on to put over half the track between him and second place Jerry Bevis. Jay Blair finished third, Kevin Watts fourth and Phil Cooper fifth. Bevis and Blair took the heat wins.

When the Sprint Car heats were complete, a familiar face was atop the standings as Michael Herrington, winner of numerous Sprint Car features last year, won the heat race but come feature time, Terry Vidrine was ready to steal the spot.  Vidrine led every lap to take the win followed by Herrington, Glynn LeBlanc, Cary Farmer and Wendell Magnon.

Chris Cassano, Scotty Covington and Jerry Cassano all took heat wins for UMP. On the start of the feature Jerry Cassano and Scotty Covington ran wheel to wheel till turn two where Covington became the meat in the sandwich between the two Cassano's. Covington popped out of the middle while Chris tapped his Dad Jerry and caused his self to spin. On the restart it was Covington and Cassano. Covington drifted high and Cassano took over the lead and went on to take the win. Scotty Covington took second, Roy Schnebelen third, Bobby Semple worked his way to finish a strong fourth followed by Darron Carroll.

David Johnson won the street stock heat race, but it was Jason Wilks who led every lap of the feature and took the win followed by David Johnson, Daniel Jessup, Joe Simoneaux, and John Griffin.

Leonard Barrileou, Darrell Guy and Bill Savo shared the pure stock heat wins. On the drop of the green Guy blasted into the lead , but didn't keep the lead long. He came into the infield under the flag stand. On the restart it was Barrileou with the lead followed by Bo Garig. Garig drifted high allowing Timothy Moran to pass him then he spun and earned a trip to the rear. Garig swiftly moved his way back to the front and passed the whole field including the leader Barrileou. Bo Garig took the win followed by Leonard Barrileou, Timothy Moran, Tudy Jackson, and Troy Dean.

Story by: Sue DuRoy 

About | Schedule | Points | Class Rules | News Archive | Photo Gallery | Contact Us

Baton Rouge Raceway, 1998-2002. All rights reserved.

Designed and Developed by Internet Advantage


SUPR News:
Check out the Latest News on the Southern United Professional Racing Series

SUPR Results

SUPR Points