About BR Raceway.gif (1043 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Schedule.gif (981 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Points.gif (956 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Class Rules.gif (999 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) News Archive.gif (1016 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Photo Gallery.gif (1014 bytes)

Return to Home 

Back to News Archive.gif (1086 bytes)

Michael Herrington takes charge of O'Reilly Sprint Cars!



Baton Rouge , Louisiana ( June 13, 2003 ) – Michael Herrington took advantage of Darrell Hyde’s misfortune and then stormed off to his second O’Reilly SUPR Sprint Car victory of 2003.  Herrington watched Hyde and fellow heat race winner Terry Vidrine set the early pace but Herrington wasn’t waiting long as he moved by Vidrine for second by lap 4 when the first caution waved for a spin by Paul Gleber.  When the racing got restarted, Hyde began to pull away from the field but on lap Hyde slipped high on the exit of turn two and caught the outside wall, sending him spinning off the back stretch.  Hyde was able to continue but did so from the rear of the field. 


With the lead, Herrington was .able to set a comfortable pace out front as the race would only be slowed by one more caution, this one with just four laps to go as Terry Vidrine spun in turn two.  Vidrine and Butch David were having a great side-by-side duel for second and Vidrine finally spun in two to keep from making contact with David.  Vidrine was forced to restart at the tail end of the lead cars and he was able to move back up to seventh with just four laps, just one position behind Darrell Hyde who had returned to finish sixth despite his early spin.


Butch David survived the tussle with Vidrine and an overheating motor to finish second behind Herrington at the checkers.  Finishing third with a late charge was Lane Whittingon who finished ahead of Shane Morgan, Cassidy Lejeune, Hyde, Vidrine and the last car on the lead lap Brad Stokes.


Darrell Hyde and Terry Vidrine won the heat races.  15 O’Reilly SUPR Sprint Cars were on hand despite a forecast calling for heavy rain in the area.  Wendell Magnon unfortunately hurt his motor in his heat race and was unable to start the feature.


Official Results:

1.       Michael Herrington

2.       Butch David

3.       Lane Whittington

4.       Shane Morgan

5.       Cassidy Lejeune

6.       Darrell Hyde

7.       Terry Vidrine

8.       Brad Stokes

9.       Harold Henderson

10.   Bobby Ingram

11.   Jerry Kennedy

12.   Cary Farmer

13.   Brandon Daniel

14.   Paul Gleber

15.   Wendell Magnon - dns

Pure stock heat winners Bo Garig and Timothy Moran shared the front row for the feature. Garig took the lead on the start and led every lap and went on to score another win. Moran finished second, 75third, Tudy Jackson fourth and Melvin Buecker fifth.

Rocky deGruy and Todd Rogers took the heat wins for street stock. deGruy took the lead on the drop of the green followed by a side by side battle between Rogers and Jason Wilks. Rogers moved to second then worked on deGruy lap after lap. Rogers tried the low side in the turns then the highside, finally the mistake came. Coming off turn four deGruy got high and Rogers took advantage of it and slipped under deGruy and into the lead. With three laps left Rogers kept the lead and went on to score the win. DeGruy finished second, Robert Ringo had his hands full coming thought the field to finish third. Jason Wilks fourth and Shannon Graham fifth.

Joel Couvillion took the heat and feature win for UMP. He jumped right into the lead in the feature and never looked back. Donnie Hebert tried to take the lead form Couvillion, but was unable to and had to settle for second. Jeff Martello took third and Darron Carroll fourth.

Bill Gordon took the heat win for late models, and went on to lead every lap of the feature and score that win too. Gordon had a straightaway over second place Jerry Bevis till Donald Watson spun and brought out the yellow. On the restart it closed the gap between Gordon and Bevis. But it wasn't long before Gordon had distance between him and Bevis again. Gordon went on to score the win. Bevis second, David Knight third and Donald Watson fourth.

Dustin Watts and Micky Joiner took the cruiser win. After running wheel to wheel with Johnny Whitehead Jr. & Sr. lap after lap they took the win by inches.

Story by: Sue DuRoy 


About | Schedule | Points | Class Rules | News Archive | Photo Gallery | Contact Us

© Baton Rouge Raceway, 1998-2002. All rights reserved.

Designed and Developed by Internet Advantage


SUPR News:
Check out the Latest News on the Southern United Professional Racing Series

SUPR Results

SUPR Points