About BR Raceway.gif (1043 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Schedule.gif (981 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Points.gif (956 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Class Rules.gif (999 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) News Archive.gif (1016 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Photo Gallery.gif (1014 bytes)

Return to Home 

Back to News Archive.gif (1086 bytes)

Harold Henderson wins first-ever O'Reilly SUPR victory



Baton Rouge , Louisiana ( April 18, 2003 ) - Mr. Second Place needs a new name, as he was a winner tonight at Baton Rouge Raceway.  Harold Henderson Jr. claimed his first-ever O’Reilly SUPR Sprint Car victory as he led flag-to-flag to take the long overdue win.  Henderson has had more than one victory slip through his hands in the late stages but he wasn’t going to let it happen tonight as he held off the challenge Michael Herrington and Butch David, the two drivers that won all but one feature last year. 


O’Reilly SUPR Sprint Car announcer Greg Holmes has jokingly pegged Harold "Mr. Second Place" after Henderson had more than one slip away from him last year but this year it looks like he’s taking full advantage of his opportunities.  Henderson started on the front row after winning his heat race.  Henderson shot into the lead right from the start, outgunning Michael Herrington who started on the pole after Top Qualifier Brandon Daniel fell ill and was replaced by Lane Whittington, who started on the rear.


Henderson built a big early lead with Herrington and David doing battle for second.  The race was slowed by a Darrell Hyde spin and then Shane Morgan took a nasty tumble in turn 1.  The third caution waved for Whittington who had stormed the high side and was moving through the field before contact with 4th place runner Terry Vidrine would eventually lead to his retirement.


As the race reached the latter stages, Michael Herrington began to close in on Henderson and a late caution gave Herrington one last chance, but Henderson was ready for it and Harold went on to take the win by 2 car lengths.


Feature Results: (Finishing Position, Name and Starting Position)

1.      Harold Henderson - 2

2.      Michael Herrington - 1

3.      Butch David - 3

4.      Terry Vidrine - 6

5.      Wesley Young - 10

6.      Glynn LeBlanc - 4

7.      Tommy Hall - 7

8.      Bobby Ingram - 12

9.      Cary Farmer - 9

10.  Darrell Hyde - 5

11.  Wendell Magnon - 8

12.  Lane Whittington - 13

13.  Shane Morgan - 11

14.  Cassidy Lejeune - DNS

James Ward makes it Three in a Row at Baton Rouge Raecway

April 18, 2003 Baton Rouge Raceway

Street stock heat winners David Johnson and Randy Jamison made up the front row for the feature and drag raced lap after lap where Johnson took the lead with Jamison in second smoking . Tommy Cannon moved into third. Randy Jamison took his smoking car to the pits moving Cannon to second. Cannon had caught the leader Johnson and tried to take the spot ,but couldn't. Jason Wilks took the lead and went on to win followed by David Johnson, Frog Talbert ,Edmond, an Tommy Cannon.

Bo Garig and Timothy Moran shared the heat wins for pure stock, Bo Garig blasted into the lead on the start of the pure stock feature. Troy Dean ran a strong second when third place got into Dean causing him to retire to the infield. Bo Garig went on to win by a long distance. McAllister took second, Mark Hardwick minus a right door finished third, Melvin Buecker fourth and Tracy Talbert fifth

Jerry Cassano, Bobby Semple and Roy Schnebelen all took heat wins for UMP heats. On the start of the feature Cassano and Semple drag raced an entire lap while Cassano pulled into the lead. Schnebelen moved into second then spun in two and pulled into the infield. Jerry Cassano went on to win followed by Shane Hebert, Bobby Semple, Darron Carroll, and Jarred Bailey.

James Ward and Kennith Crowe took the heat wins for late models. Yellow flew half way through when Jimmy Nolan didn't turn coming off turn two he just went straight to the wall. On the restart it was James Ward again. No one could catch Ward he was out to make it another win. And that he did by several car lengths over David Ashley, Kennith Crowe, Jerry Bevis and Bill Gordon rounded out the top five.

Story by: Sue DuRoy 

About | Schedule | Points | Class Rules | News Archive | Photo Gallery | Contact Us

© Baton Rouge Raceway, 1998-2002. All rights reserved.

Designed and Developed by Internet Advantage


SUPR News:
Check out the Latest News on the Southern United Professional Racing Series

SUPR Results

SUPR Points