Return_to_Home.gif (2697 bytes)
SUPR News.gif (1232 bytes)
Navigational Bar.gif (2089 bytes)
Navigational Bar B.gif (950 bytes)
_ Back to News Index.gif (1062 bytes)

Frye spoons up Jambalaya 100 victory

MAGNOLIA, Miss. (Nov. 17, 2001) - Bill Frye started on the pole and
led every lap to claim the 5th Annual O'Reilly SUPR Jambalaya 100 at
Pike County Speedway. Frye survived minor damage to his Kuntz and
Company Ford spec motor when a valve head broke with 15 laps to go
to but was able to hold on to claim the win. Frye who was fast right
out of the box, set the fast time in qualifying with a 17.00 second lap
around the 3/8 mile oval, "The car felt really good, at the fuel stop I
thought the track couldn't get any slicker, I just thought it would take
rubber and get faster so we put a lot of gas in it and didn't try to
tighten it up, it was free and I could really roll the car around. Really
all weekend I don't think we ever had to change it."

Frye drove theUnifirst/Petroff Trucking/Night Moves Racing GRT to his
first 10th victory with the O'Reilly SUPR Late Model Series but his first
since 1998. Frye summed his weekend when he stated, "We didn't tear
anything up, we didn't kill a bunch of tires, this was a successful

But Marlon Wild wasn't going to let Frye take home the victory without
a fight. Wild, who started 14th, made a charge just prior to the fuel
stop to climb to 3rd at the halfway mark. Lap 63 saw Wild move by
Diamond Dave Siegert to grab second but any hopes he had of
catching Frye were deflated when his right rear tire started to go
away, finally letting go in the final few laps. Still, despite the flat tire,
Marlon Wild was able to hold on to second ahead of a fast closing
Kenny Merchant.

Kenny Merchant may well have been the fastest car on the track at
the checkers, but as he relayed after the feature, his tires took way
too long in coming around. Merchant was firmly planted in the top 5
throughout the race but was unable to mount a serious challenge until
the waning stages of the race.

Diamond Dave Siegert started out his night by winning the UMP
Modified feature driving on of his Diamond D Racing Modified. Siegert
then jumped into his Late Model and put on an impressive charge
moving up from 9th to 2nd by the fuel stop. Siegert's right rear tire
began to fade and he was forced to ease off in hopes of reaching the
finish. Siegert did reach the finish just ahead of Rob Litton. David
Ashley and Kevin Watts were the last pair on the lead lap when the
checkers waved.

Kevin Weaver made a surprise appearance at the Jambalaya 100 and
he appeared to be in a strong position to do battle with Frye as he
started on the outside pole. Unfortunately for Weaver, the torque arm
bolt snapped going into turn one on the start and his night was
finished. Last year's winner Rodney Wing also dropped out without a
lap complete as he suffered a broken left front assembly as he spun in
turn 4. Scott Slay and Al Purkey got caught up in the deal and went
to the rear. Slay and Purkey both put on a good show as they charged
back into the top 10 before both drivers retired early, Slay on lap 67
and Purkey on lap 79.

Mike Boland was one of the few cars capable of running with Frye in
the early stages but he dropped out on lap 17 with what appeared to
be motor trouble. Steve Russell made some impressive early moves and
just as soon as he moved up to 4th place he had a head gasket go
away and he retired the very next lap.

The race was slowed by just 4 cautions, two before the race could
get underway, one on lap 17 for Boland and one on lap 55 for a spin by
Donald Watson.

Frye lapped all but the top 7 cars in the feature, with most of the field
lapped by the fuel stop on lap 50.


Official Finishing Order 5th Annual Jambalaya 100:
1. Bill Frye
2. Marlon Wild
3. Kenny Merchant
4. Dave Siegert
5. Rob Litton
6. David Ashley
7. Kevin Watts
8. Lee Davis
9. Larry Ritter
10. Dennis Duncan
11. Donald Watson
12. Michael Coleman
13. Al Purkey
14. Chris Wall
15. David Knight
16. Scott Slay
17. Odie Green
18. Sam Patrick
19. Curt Lipsey
20. Mike Boland
21. Ryan Plaisance
22. Steve Russell
23. Rodney Wing
24. Kevin Weaver


About | News | Tracks | Results | Points | Schedule  | Photo Gallery |
Contact Us

Baton Rouge Raceway, 1998-2002. All rights reserved.

Designed and Developed by Internet Advantage

Maintained by Weakside Productions