Return_to_Home.gif (2697 bytes)
SUPR News.gif (1232 bytes)
Navigational Bar.gif (2089 bytes)
Navigational Bar B.gif (950 bytes)
_ Back to News Index.gif (1062 bytes)

Adams bounces back to win SUPR feature at

MANY, LA (Oct. 27, 2001) - Ronny Adams left Baton Rouge Raceway
dejected and frustrated. He felt he was spun out of the Louisiana
State Championship race while running in the top 5 ending a
disappointing weekend for the Greenwood, Louisiana driver. He
avenged those results tonight as he claimed his first O'Reilly SUPR
victory of the year and the 26th of his career. Adams won an early
battle with Rob Litton for the lead only to see David Ashley take
control of the race near the midpoint. Adams kept Ashley in his sights
and then retook the lead for good with ten laps to go. The win moved
Adams into a tie with Ronnie Poche for 2nd on the overall SUPR win
list. The pair still trails the all time winningest driver in SUPR history,
Doug Ingalls, by 10 races.

Adams started 6th in the feature in the C. Wright Machine
Tool/Wilhelm Auto Pontiac Grand Prix GRT and grabbed third at the
start. He moved up to second on lap four before grabbing the lead for
the first time on lap six from pole sitter Rob Litton. Litton grabbed the
lead back on lap seven but the lead lasted only one lap as Adams was
back out front on lap eight. Adams remained up front as the first of
two caution flags waved on lap 17. On the restart, Adams' car
appeared to bog down and this allowed David Ashley to shoot into the
lead from the third position. Ashley appeared to be the car to beat at
this point in the race but his luck would soon turn south as an
encounter with an infield tire would end his night early as he brought
out the final caution flag on lap 29 with a broken left front suspension.

Adam's win moved him into a tie with Ronnie Poche for 2nd on the
overall SUPR win list. The pair still trails the all time winningest driver in
SUPR history, Doug Ingalls, by 10 races.

Ashley's bad luck came with a high price as the broken front
suspension cost Ashley a chance at his first win of the year but more
importantly, his 18th place finish, coupled with Odie Green's seventh
place finish, swung the pendulum in Green's favor and Green was able
to overtake Ashley for the runner-up spot in the 2001 O'Reilly SUPR

Rob Litton ran a consistent race that never saw him slip outside the
top three and finally resulted in a second place finish for the
Alexandria, Louisiana competitor. Litton started on the pole as the Top
Qualifier for the event as he topped the first heat race from the
outside pole position. Litton would lead laps two through five and once
again on lap seven before Adams and Ashley took their turns up front.
Litton was able to hold on to third ahead of a pair of South Louisiana
competitors, Eric Courville and Dwight Falcon. Jason Ingalls, 2001
Louisiana State Champion Jon Mitchell, Odie Green, Lloyd Wild Jr.
Logging Hard Charger Rusty Cummings, Lee Davis and Phil Cooper
rounded out the top ten.

26 O'Reilly SUPR Late Models were on hand for the 40-lap feature.
Joining Rob Litton in claiming heat races wins were Donald Watson,
David Ashley and Lee Davis. Rusty Cummings topped the Last Chance
race and Dennis Duncan claimed the sole provisional starting spot.

The 12th Annual O'Reilly SUPR Banquet will be held on November 10th
at the Embassy Suites in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. For tickets and
further information contact the O'Reilly SUPR offices at 225-275-5040.


Official Results:
1. Ronny Adams
2. Rob Litton
3. Eric Courville
4. Dwight Falcon
5. Jason Ingalls
6. Jon Mitchell
7. Odie Green
8. Rusty Cummings
9. Lee Davis
10. Phil Cooper
11. David Knight
12. Brock Williams
13. Donald Watson
14. Ryan Fontenot
15. Butch Patton
16. Tommy Cannon
17. Dennis Duncan
18. David Ashley
19. Chris Wall
20. Kenny Merchant
21. Allen Tippen

Final 2001 O'Reilly SUPR Points:
1. Jay Blair 2881
2. Odie Green 2762
3. David Ashley 2739
4. Dennis Duncan 2659
5. Dave Siegert 2502
6. Ryan Plaisance 2207
7. Kenny Merchant 2204
8. Rob Litton 2109
9. Bill Avant 1897
10. Jon Mitchell 1875
11. Marlon Wild 1751
12. Lee Davis 1441
13. Donald Watson 1420
14. Terry Henson 1306
15. Bubba Mullins 989
16. Keith Craft 943
17. Chris Wall 919
18. Kennith Crowe 913
19. Scott Slay 818
20. Curt Lipsey 810


About | News | Tracks | Results | Points | Schedule  | Photo Gallery |
Contact Us

Baton Rouge Raceway, 1998-2002. All rights reserved.

Designed and Developed by Internet Advantage

Maintained by Weakside Productions