Return_to_Home.gif (2697 bytes)
SUPR News.gif (1232 bytes)
Navigational Bar.gif (2089 bytes)
Navigational Bar B.gif (950 bytes)
_ Back to News Index.gif (1062 bytes)

Essary roars to O'Reilly All Star Super
Challenge victory

by Phil Roberts

KANSAS CITY, Kan. (Sept. 29, 2001) - In something akin to an all-star
game, the top drivers of the five Late Model stock car series
sponsored by O'Reilly Auto Parts gathered Friday night here at
Lakeside Speedway to duke it out in the O'Reilly All Star Super
Challenge. The 50-lap event on the half-mile oval involved the top
five drivers in points who were present from the O'Reilly Auto Parts
All-Star Series, NASCAR Touring (OASS); Mid America Racing Series
(MARS); Midwest Latemodel Racing Association (MLRA); National
Championship Racing Assocation (NCRA) and Southern United
Professional Racing (SUPR).

When it was over, Leslie Essary of Crane, MO., a MARS driver, had
claimed the $3,500 top prize. He was followed in order by Joe Kosiski
of Omaha, Neb. (OASS), Rex McCroskey of Springfield, MO (MLRA), Bill
Frye of Greenbrier, Ark. (MARS); and Jeff Taylor of Batesville, Ark

The drivers, who were welcomed by Ron Byerly and Kevin Greven of
O'Reilly Auto Parts, a national auto parts chain based in Springfield,
MO, drew for starting positions.

Ed Kosiski of Ralson, Neb. (OASS) and Dennis Duncan of Terry, Miss.
(SUPR) sat on the front row for the start. But Essary, who started
third, took the lead at the drop of the green and was not about to
give it up. Chasing him throughout the race were a variety of drivers -
Duncan, Ed Kosiski, Gary Webb of Blue Grass, Iowa; Taylor; and Joe

Joe Kosiski moved into second place on the 27th lap and, even with
the field tightened due to restarts after yellow flags, he could not
give Essary a run for his money.

"We just happened to hit everything right for tonight," a modest
Essary said in a post-race interview. "The groove was around the
bottom, and the car was good around the bottom. If we'd had to go
to the top, we might have been in trouble. I don't know."

Of Kosiski's second-place finish, Essary said, "Joe owed me one. The
last time I ran against him up here, he won it and I ran second. It's
my turn this time.

"Any car here was capable of winning; we just happened to hit things
right tonight," he said.

Also on the program at Lakeside Friday night, competing in the first
night of a two-night show, were the O'Reilly Midwest Sprint Car Series
and the O'Reilly Auto Parts All-Star Series, a NASCAR Touring division.


O'Reilly All Star Super Challenge:
1. Leslie Essary - Crane, Mo. (MARS)
2. Joe Kosiski - Omaha, Neb. (OASS)
3. Rex McCroskey - Springfield, Mo. (MLRA)
4. Bill Frye - Greenbrier, Ark. (MARS)
5. Jeff Taylor - Pleasant Plains, Ark. (MARS)
6. Al Purkey - Coffeyville, Kan. (MLRA)
7. David Ashley - Zachary, La. (SUPR)
8. Gary Webb - Blue Grass, Iowa (OASS)
9. Jason Bodenhamer - Centerview, Mo. (MLRA)
10. Jay Blair - Angie, La. (SUPR)
11. Odie Green - Fauke, Ark. (SUPR)
12. Terry Phillips - Springfield, Mo. (MARS)
13. Ted Martin - Bennington, Kan. (NCRA)
14. Ed Kosiski - Ralston, Neb. (OASS)
15. Ray Guss Jr. - Milan, Ill. (OASS)
16. Eddie Tidwell - Ada, Okla. (NCRA)
17. Delbert Smith - Wichita, Kan. (NCRA)
18. Danny McFadden - Furley, Kan. (NCRA
19. *Kelly Boen - Henderson, Colo. (MARS)
20. Ryan Plaisance - Waggeman, La. (SUPR)
21. Kent Taylor - Wellington, Kan. (MLRA)
22. Gary Gorby - Caney, Kan. (MLRA)
23. Dennis Duncan - Terry, Miss. (SUPR)
24. Kyle Berck - Marquette, Neb. (OASS)
25. David Barkey - Kingsville, Mo. (MLRA)

* - Boen was subbing for the MARS driver Mike Bowers, who was ill.

For further information regarding the 2001 O’Reilly SUPR Series contact Greg Holmes at 225-275-5040 or e-mail us at


About | News | Tracks | Results | Points | Schedule  | Photo Gallery |
Contact Us

Baton Rouge Raceway, 1998-2002. All rights reserved.

Designed and Developed by Internet Advantage

Maintained by Weakside Productions