Return_to_Home.gif (2697 bytes)
SUPR News.gif (1232 bytes)
Navigational Bar.gif (2089 bytes)
Navigational Bar B.gif (950 bytes)
_ Back to News Index.gif (1062 bytes)

Duncan Earns First Win of 2001

Baton Rouge, Louisiana (March 16, 2001) – Dennis Duncan returned to a track that owed him a victory and this time he made sure he wasn’t leaving without it. Duncan has run strong at Baton Rouge Raceway on several occasions only to see victory elude him. Tonight Duncan won despite a small oil fire early in the race and despite being passed by Rob Litton on lap 6. Duncan’s Majestic Metals GRT got better as the race went on and he was able to work his way back past Litton on lap 36 and he pulled away to his second ever O’Reilly SUPR victory.

Dennis struggled during SUPR’s first visit to Baton Rouge Raceway in February and he has since switched back to his Tony Barker spec motor package and the car responded to the change.

Duncan was concerned about the oil fire that was coming off a small leak from the breather element but the fire burnt itself out by the time the first caution waved. That caution almost spelt the end of his night as he was racing just behind Rob Litton as the exited turn 2. Dave Siegert slowed to exit the track and Litton dove underneath him but Duncan was unable to react as quickly and made solid contact with Siegert’s car sending it spinning on to the pit exit road. Siegert’s car was able to continue into the pits for repairs and Duncan’s car survived with minor sheet metal damage.

Litton called his second place finish “my own little victory” as he had spent the entire week repairing his car after a nasty wreck during the O’Reilly Mardi Gras Nationals at Pike County Speedway last week.

Litton was the GRT Top Qualifier for the event and he had a strong car early in the feature but the car became too loose late in the race and Duncan was able to make the pass in traffic in turn 3. Still, Litton was happy to get his season back on track.

Jay Blair returned to the form that helped him win the 2000 O’Reilly SUPR Championship as recorded a solid third place finish as he outlasted a race long duel with Marlon Wild and Rodney Wing. Wing was running 3rd until lapped traffic caused him to dive into the infield to avoid contact and he lost two track positions in the process. Still, Wing’s 3rd consecutive top 5 finish has him solidly in the lead in the O’Reilly SUPR point standings.  Bubba Mullins, Lonnie Covington, Kenny Merchant in his first race with his new J.D. Caver-backed Warrior, Scott Dedwylder and Odie Green rounded out the Top 10.

31 Late Models were on hand. Rodney Wing, Jay Blair, Lonnie Covington, Marlon Wild and Rob Litton claimed heat wins while Ryan Plaisance and Chris Walls topped the last chance races. Bill Gordon claimed the Lloyd Wild Jr. Logging Hard Charger award as he started 23rd and passed 9 cars en route to a 14th place finish. Bill Avant, who lost a driveline while leading his heat race and was unable to transfer to the feature, was named the B&K Underground Directional Boring Hard Luck recipient.

For further information regarding the 2001 O’Reilly SUPR Series contact Greg Holmes at 225-275-5040 or e-mail us at


About | News | Tracks | Results | Points | Schedule  | Photo Gallery |
Contact Us

Baton Rouge Raceway, 1998-2002. All rights reserved.

Designed and Developed by Internet Advantage

Maintained by Weakside Productions 

Results 03-16-00