About BR Raceway.gif (1043 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Schedule.gif (981 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Points.gif (956 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Class Rules.gif (999 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) News Archive.gif (1016 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Photo Gallery.gif (1014 bytes)

Return to Home 

Back to News Archive.gif (1086 bytes)

Wilks Takes Street Stock Win

by: Sue DuRoy

(August 10, 2001)  Bo Garig and Zane Barcelona shared the heat wins for pure stock. Barcelona on the pole Garig on the outside ran wheel to wheel for the lead, by turn three Garig pulled into the lead. Yellow flew when Rodney Ravencraft did a 360 under the flagstand. On the restart Garig, Barcelona, Darrell Guy and Mark Hardwick ran so close you couldn't get a whisker between them. On the front straightaway Garig the leader slowed a little and Guy slipped by and went on to take the win followed by Garig, Barcelona, Mark Hardwick and Darren Dean.

Tommy Cannon and Jason Wilks took heat wins in street stock. Wilks led every lap with the nose of Scooter Paetz car under him. But Wilks held him off and took the win. Robert Ringo battled with William Fletcher till he finally got third from him. Mitchel Arnold spun off four but got turned around and caused no yellow. Fletcher finished fourth and rounding out the top five was Randy Jamison.

Scotty took the win for four cylinder heat then hurt his motor. Tom Dancy lent him his car for the feature. Wesley LaFluer took the lead then Hank Schlindwein took over the lead. Mike Tyler and Wayne Everett tangled in four. On the restart it was Hank Schlindwein with the led followed by Covington. When the checkered was flying Hank Schlindwein and Scotty Covington where under it side by side Hank won by a nose over Covington. Wesley LaFleur third and Everette fourth.

On the start of the modified feature pole sitter Jerry Cassano got tore up and left the race. On the restart it was James Ward with the lead followed by Conrad Cupit. Billy Collett worked his way to fourth after starting 12th and had his hands full trying to get the lead third from Donnie Simpson. Ward Scored the win by several car lengths over Cupid who finished second. Billy Collette finished this and won the Timberwolf hardcharger award fro moving the most spots. Donnie Simpson fourth and Frank Hillyard fifth. Jerry Cassano and James Ward took the heat wins.

Sam Patrick jumped into the lead on the start of the late model feature followed by Dwight Falcon. They put distance between them and third place Chris Hoyt. Patrick put a few car lengths between him and Falcon, but as the laps dwindled Falcon started reeling Patrick in as they came up on lap traffic and the white flag Falcon was only a car length behind Patrick as the took the checkered. Patrick won the caution free race, Falcon second. Chris Hoyt finish third and had his hands full the whole race with fourth place David Ashley. Kevin Watts took fifth. Patrick and Falcon took the heat wins.

Nathan Holmes to the win in Yard Karts and Ricky Kirkland won the go Karts.

For further information regarding the 2000 O’Reilly SUPR Series contact Greg Holmes at 225-275-5040 or e-mail us at gholmes@suprracing.com.

About | Schedule | Points | Class Rules | News Archive | Photo Gallery | Contact Us

Baton Rouge Raceway, 1998-2000. All rights reserved.

Designed and Developed by Internet Advantage


SUPR News:
Check out the Latest News on the Southern United Professional Racing Series

SUPR Results

SUPR Points