About BR Raceway.gif (1043 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Schedule.gif (981 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Points.gif (956 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Class Rules.gif (999 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) News Archive.gif (1016 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Photo Gallery.gif (1014 bytes)

Return to Home 

Back to News Archive.gif (1086 bytes)

Darrell Guy Wracked up Another Pure Stock Win

June 1, 2001

By: Sue DuRoy

Butch Jenkins, Darrell Guy, and Darren Dean all took heat wins for pure stock.

Darren Dean from the pole took the early lead followed by Butch Jenkins. First yellow flew when Stacy Buecher and James Harrell connected and flew into the infield off the front straightaway. On the restart it was Dean again upfront. Dean has his hands full with Jenkins and Jenkins has his hands full with Guy. The top three are nose to tail and stacked like dominoes in the turns. Guy moved into second and then went after the leader and took the lead from Dean. Dean came up on a lap car James Harrel and got stuck behind him and lost the second plus three more positions. Guy led the rest of the way and scored the win followed by Butch Jenkins, Mark Tate, Zane Barcelona, and Darren Dean.

Jerry Cassano shared heat win with the young talented Chad Williams. Williams just started in Modified this year and that heat win was his first win. Dale Aucoin took the lead in Modified feature followed by Jerry Cassano and Chad Williams. First yellow flew when Williams spun and was placed at the rear on the restart. Aucoin held on to the lead on the restart with Cassano's nose under him in the corners. Coming off four Aucoin drifted up a little and that was all it took. Jerry Cassano took advantage of it and got the lead and went on to score the win followed by Aucoin, Conrad Cupit ran a strong third, Jason Taylor took fourth and rounding out the top five was Robert Foster.

Scooter Paetz and Kerry Vicknair took the street stock heat wins. Vicknair took the lead on the drop of the green followed by Jason Wilks and Scooter Paetz. Yellow flew when Arnold spun in two. Paetz took over second from Wilks. Then with mechanical problems Paetz started fading back. Vicknair went on to put another notch in his belt and take the win. Jason Wilks second, Tommy Cannon third, Tater Boyd fourth and Bobby Tate fifth.

Scotty Covington and Daniel Jessup shared the front row after taking the heat wins for mini stock. They drag raced wheel to wheel down they front straightaway till off turn two when Covington pulled in the lead. Covington , Jessup and Everette ran nose to tail up front. Everett worked on Jessup till he took over second from him. Covington dropped a cylinder and Everett took over the lead and scored the win . Jessup took second, Covington took third, Joey King fourth, and fifth Wesley LaFluer.

Late Model heat winners Eric Courville and Jerry Bevis shared the front row for the feature. Yellow flew on the first lap when Donald Watson flew off the back of the track. On the restart Courville and Bevis ran wheel to wheel, Courville pulled into the lead. Bevis pulled into the infield with problems. Courville went on to score the win followed by Kevin Watts last weeks SUPR winner, third went to Randy Blanchard who came up from the rear of the field. David Ashley took fourth and fifth place went top Dwight Falcon.

For further information regarding the 2000 O’Reilly SUPR Series contact Greg Holmes at 225-275-5040 or e-mail us at gholmes@suprracing.com.

About | Schedule | Points | Class Rules | News Archive | Photo Gallery | Contact Us

Baton Rouge Raceway, 1998-2000. All rights reserved.

Designed and Developed by Internet Advantage


SUPR News:
Check out the Latest News on the Southern United Professional Racing Series

SUPR Results

SUPR Points