About BR Raceway.gif (1043 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Schedule.gif (981 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Points.gif (956 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Class Rules.gif (999 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) News Archive.gif (1016 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Photo Gallery.gif (1014 bytes)

Return to Home

Back to News Archive.gif (1086 bytes)


Zane Barcelona Takes the Pure Stock Special

Sue DuRoy May 18,2001

Baton Rouge Raceway

Ump feature started with a side by side battle between heat winners Bobby Semple and Conrad Cupit. Cupit finally got the lead. First yellow flew when Bill Hawkins spun in four. On the restart it was Cupit and Semple upfront till Chris Cassano spun in four bringing out the yellow again. Cupit, Semple and Cassano ran nose to tail. Semple took over the lead from Cupit. Once Semple got the lead he put distance between him Cupit. Semple went on to take this his second feature win. Cupit took second and third went to Jerry Cassano. Scott Holt fourth and Dale Aucoin fifth.

Scotty Covington and Daniel Jessup took the heat wins for mini stock. Calvin Tyler took the early lead in mini stock till Scotty Covington caught him and they ran side by side down the front straightaway. Finally on the back straightaway Covington moved into the lead. Jeremy Dubois moved into second. Joey King to third and Donna Everett fourth. Everett got hit so hard on the back straightaway that it knocked her fuel cell out the car. Covington went on to make it three wins in a row. Jeremy Dubois second, Calvin Tyler third, Daniel Jessup fourth , and fifth Joey King.

Kerry Vicknair took both heat and feature win for street stock. After three tries at a start they finally got the race underway with Vicknair in the lead followed by Paetz and Wilks side by side for second. The front three were like a tight triangle, Vicknair went on to take the win. Jason Wilks took over second, Scooter Paetz third, Gary Talbert fourth and Gene Brown fifth.

Eric Courville and Bill Gordon shared the heart wins for late models. Courville took the lead and led every lap. Donald Watson took over second from Bill Gordon, then Gordon took it back. Courville took the win followed by Gordon, Watson, David Knight and Chris Wall.

The  heat winners for the pure stock special were Zane Barcelona, Butch Jenkins and Darrell Guy. First yellow flew when Joseph Law spun in two. On the restart it was Barcelona leading. On the back straightaway they ran three wide for fourth. Darrell Guy in the middle, Jimmy Stephens on the high side and Randy Brownell down low. Stephens broke an axle and had to retire to the pits, Zane Barcelona went on to take the big purse followed by Butch Jenkins, Darrell Guy, Scott Womack and David Johnson.