About BR Raceway.gif (1043 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Schedule.gif (981 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Points.gif (956 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Class Rules.gif (999 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) News Archive.gif (1016 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Photo Gallery.gif (1014 bytes)

Return to Home 

Back to News Archive.gif (1086 bytes)

Ashley Scores Late Model Win at Baton Rouge Raceway

May 11, 2001

By: Sue DuRoy

Pure stock feature started with heat winners Zane Barcelona and David Johnson from the pole drag racing to turn one where Barclona moved into the lead.  Darrell Guy took second from Johnson.  Johnson and Mark Hardwick made a sandwich of a lap car and Hardwick came out with third dropping Johnson to fourth.  Guy chased Barcelona lap after lap within one car length but couldn't get him.  Barcelona took the win followed by Guy, Mark Hardwick third, Johnson fourth and Danny Prather fifth.

After taking a couple weeks off Jerry Cassano jumped in the seat of the C24 and rightback in the winners circle again.  Cassano and Bobby Helmer shared the heat wins.  Cassano jumped into the lead on the start and lead every lap .  James Ward took second away from Helmer.  Conrad Cupit was after fourth spot from Shane Hebert and as he got a nose under him in two they touched and Cupit spun and was sent to the rear on the restart. Cassaon scored the win with James Ward second, Bobby Helmer third, Shane Hebert fourth and Curtis Vicknair fifth.  Conrad Cupit had come back from the rear to sixth and was starting to pass Vicknair when they crossed the finish line.

Kerry Vicknair and John Griffin where top dogs for street stock heats.  On the start of the feature it was Vickair in the lead till he suffered mechanical problems that put him out of the race.  Robert Ringo ran second and Gary Talbert third.  Jason Wilks brought out the first yellow when he spun.  On the restart Ringo ran through the infield and came out fourth.  Ringo spun on the back straightaway and went nose first into the wall.  On the restart it was Vicknair and Talbert nose to tail. Vicknair broke and went to the pits handing the lead over to Talbert followed by Cannon.  On the front straightaway the front cars went flying everywhere.  Talbert broke and axle and lost a wheel.  On the restart it was Scooter Paetz with the lead.  Randy Jamison worked on Paetz till he got the lead and took the win with Paetz second, Tommy Cannon third, Dolan Foster fourth and Robert Ringo fifth.

Scotty Covington and Wayne Everett took the heat wins for Mini Stock.  Covington took the lead and set sail from the rest of the field till his transmission gave up and he had to retire to the pits.  Wayne Everett running second spun in two and Larry Clayton and BJ Watts spun trying to avoid hitting Everett and wound up stacked like dominoes in the turn.  Everett went in to the infield for the rest of the race.  Hank Schlindewin became the leader when Covington went in after breaking his transmission.  Schleinwein went on to win his first ever feature at Baton Rouge Raceway.  Donna Everett finished second, BJ Watts third, Joey King ran a strong fourth and Melvin Sibley fifth.

Sam Patrick and David Ashley took the late model heat wins.  On the start it was Patrick starting to spin in turn 3 until Ashley sliding into him and straightening him out and  Ashley with nowhere to go shot down through the infield and took over the lead.  Kevin Watts moved up to third and then second.  At one point he was only a foot from Ashley.  Ashley took the win followed by Watts, Bill Gordon and Sam Patrick battled lap after lap for third wheel to wheel and Gordon finally made the pass to finish third.  Patrick fourth and David Knight rounded out the top five.

The Timberwolf Hard Charger award went to UMP modified Driver:  Cash Wilson.

In the Yard Karts it was Matthew White taking the win, with Brand Furrate second and Cole Gordon third.

For further information regarding the 2000 O’Reilly SUPR Series contact Greg Holmes at 225-275-5040 or e-mail us at gholmes@suprracing.com.

About | Schedule | Points | Class Rules | News Archive | Photo Gallery | Contact Us

Baton Rouge Raceway, 1998-2000. All rights reserved.

Designed and Developed by Internet Advantage


SUPR News:
Check out the Latest News on the Southern United Professional Racing Series

SUPR Results

SUPR Points