About BR Raceway.gif (1043 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Schedule.gif (981 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Points.gif (956 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Class Rules.gif (999 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) News Archive.gif (1016 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Photo Gallery.gif (1014 bytes)

Return to Home 

Back to News Archive.gif (1086 bytes)

Eric Courville the "The Gonzales Stallion" is Hot @ BRR!

May 4, 2001

By: Sue DuRoy
Billy Mitchell, darrel Guy and Mark Hardwick all shared heat wins for pure stock.

On the start Darrel Guy took the lead followed by Billy Mitchell. Perry Saison spun in four bringing out the yellow.  On the restart it was Guy followed by Butch Jenkins, Zane Barcelona, and Billy Mitchell.  Guy spun on the back straightaway.  On the restart it was Barcelona in the lead.  Mark Hardwick running fourth coasted into the infield, Billy Mitchell also came in after smoking back a couple laps.  Zane Barcelona went on to score his first win of the season.  Second went to Mark Tate, Buddy Payne third, fourth David Johnson and fith Perry Saizon.

Mitch Tassin pulled into the lead on the start of the UMP feature followed by Bobby Semple, Semple would follow Tassin lap after lap.  Chris Cassano moved up into third then got side by side with Semple.  Cassano gave the leader Tassin a tap sending him spinning, both cars retired to the pits.  On the restart it was Semple leading the way and holding off challenges from Bobby Helmer.  Semple would take his first win followed by Helmer, Conrad Cupit worked his way up through the field to finish third, Jeff Martello fourth and fifth went to Henry Lamonica.  Troy Cassano and Bill Hawkins took the heat wins.

Calvin Tyler and Scotty Covington shared the heat wins for mini stock.  Covington took the lead on the drop of the green with caution coming out for the spinning Wayne Everett.  On the restart it was Covington jumping to the lead with Calvin Tyler in tow, at one point Covington had 7 car lengths on Tyler, then as they reached lapped traffic, Tyler closed the gap.  Covington led every laps with no brakes!  In the heat race Covington's clutch cable broke.  Tyler would finish second with Wayne Everett, Tom Dancy and Larry Clayton rounding out the top five.

Fred Walton and Eric Courville took the heat wins for late models.  Ricky May sat on the pole for the start of the feature but it was Eric Courville who blasted into the lead and led every lap and took the win.  In turn two, Michael Blackard, Ryan Plaisance, Yott and Kevin Watts all tied up.  Watts went in the pits to change a flat and come back to tag the rear.  Courville led with David Ashley second.  Watts came charging back after having a flat to finish third, Sam Patrick also went to the rear and came back to finish fourth, and Bill Gordon finished fifth  Michael Blackard won the Timberwolf Hard Charger Award.

For further information regarding the 2000 O’Reilly SUPR Series contact Greg Holmes at 225-275-5040 or e-mail us at gholmes@suprracing.com.

About | Schedule | Points | Class Rules | News Archive | Photo Gallery | Contact Us

Baton Rouge Raceway, 1998-2000. All rights reserved.

Designed and Developed by Internet Advantage


SUPR News:
Check out the Latest News on the Southern United Professional Racing Series

SUPR Results

SUPR Points