About BR Raceway.gif (1043 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Schedule.gif (981 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Points.gif (956 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Class Rules.gif (999 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) News Archive.gif (1016 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Photo Gallery.gif (1014 bytes)

Return to Home 

Back to News Archive.gif (1086 bytes)

Herrington took Cajun Sprint Win!

Perry Saizan and Darren Dean shared the heat wins for pure stock.  After one failed attempt at a start, on the restart it was Saizan with the lead followed by Mark Hardwick and Darren Dean.  Darrell Guy took over second then came up onto a lap car and had to back out of it and Hardwick with nowhere to go got into the back of Guy and took a trip into the infield and back out only losing one position.  Saizan, Guy and Billy Mitchell were running nose to tail and pulling away from the rest of the field, while battling it out with Guy, Mitchell tried to make a dive underneath in turn 3 and hit the yuke tire and his race was over.  Perry Saizan took the win with Darrell Guy second, Butch Jenkins, Mark Hardwick and Gordon McDaniel finishing out the top five.

It was David versus Goliath in the Coca Cola Modifieds as the youngster Michael Connell was taking on Jerry Cassano the seasoned veteran.  It would be the seasoned veteran taking the lead at the start and  lead every lap to take the win.  Chris Cassano, Michael Connell, Bobby Semple and Dale Aucoin rounded out the top five.

Street stock action saw Kerry Vicknair use the outside groove to take the win over last weeks winner Scooter Paetz.  Randy Jamison would give way to Tommy Cannon on the white flag lap to finish third and fourth respectiviley.

25 Cajun Sprinters rolled into Baton Rouge to find the newly reshaped race track to be fast and racey.  Heat race winners were Tony Krites, Michael Herrington, Herman Carrier and Kelly Angelette.  Krites and Herrington would bring the field around for the start with Herrington taking the lead.  Herrington would lead every lap as he would take his first win of the 2001 season.  Rounding out the top five were Angelette, David, Carrier and Lane Whittington.

Scotty Covington would take another win over the growing field of Mini Stocks, as the lead changed several times between Browning, Clayton and finally Covington.  Covington looked as he was on rails as he ran smooth lap after lap with Clayton right behind him, third was Jeremy Dubois, Watts andy LaFleur would round out the top five.

Ricky Kirkland made it three in a row for the racing karts, 


For further information regarding the 2000 O’Reilly SUPR Series contact Greg Holmes at 225-275-5040 or e-mail us at gholmes@suprracing.com.

About | Schedule | Points | Class Rules | News Archive | Photo Gallery | Contact Us

Baton Rouge Raceway, 1998-2000. All rights reserved.

Designed and Developed by Internet Advantage


SUPR News:
Check out the Latest News on the Southern United Professional Racing Series

SUPR Results

SUPR Points