About BR Raceway.gif (1043 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Schedule.gif (981 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Points.gif (956 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Class Rules.gif (999 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) News Archive.gif (1016 bytes) RED Spacer.gif (827 bytes) Photo Gallery.gif (1014 bytes)

Return to Home 

Back to News Archive.gif (1086 bytes)

Kerry Vicknair Unbeatable in Street Stock

Billy Mitchell earned himself the pole when he shared heat wins with Shay Juban. On the drop of the green Mitchell had the lead, but a yellow caused by a car spinning in two. On the second start again it was Mitchell in the lead. Darren Dean and Shay Juban followed Mitchell. Darrell Guy took third away from Juban. With 5 laps out of 20 in Buecker spun bringing out the yellow. 4 laps later Buecker spun in two bringing out te yellow again. With only 8 laps to go Shay Juban running a strong fifth slowed and went in the pits. Billy Mitchell smoothly weaved in and out of lap traffic and led all 20 laps and scored the win. With 5 laps to go Darrell Guy and a lap car made a sandwich out of Darren Dean. Guy took over second and held it to the checkered. Dean took third, Butch Jenkins took fourth, and rounding out the top five was Mark Hardwick.

Danny Herbert and Jerry Cassano took the wins for UMP. Danny Hebert to the early lead, Cassano broke and went in the pits. 6 laps into the race Charles Nevel spun in two bringing out the first yellow. On the restart it was Hebert, Greg Freeman and Shane Herbert. Shane moved into second behind his brother. Dale Acoin spun and Holt with no where to go drove over the top of Aucoin, On the restart Shane chased down his brother and battled side by side till he took over the lead and scored the win followed by Danny Hebert, Greg Freeman, James Ward and Brandon Buhler.

Scooter Paetz and Kerry Vicknair shared the heat wins for street stock. Vicnair from the pole ran wheel to wheel with Paetz till turn two where he pulled into the lead. Behind him raged a three wide battle for second between Paetz, Jason Wilks and Robert Ringo. With seven laps in out of twenty second place Wilks broke and pitted. Paetz moved to second on the restart. Vicknair went on to win. Kerry Vicknair is definitely the man to beat.   Scooter Paetz took second, Gary Talbert third, Michael Wholgamuth fourth and fifth Robert Ringo.

Michael Browning and Larry Clayton won the mini stock heat races. Browning and Clayton drag raced to turn two , then a three car pile up caused a complete restart. On the restart Browning jumped into the lead. Scotty Covington moved up to second then ran down the leader, but ran out of time. Browning took the win followed by Scotty Covington, Larry Clayton, Calvin Taylor and Richard Mathes.

Lonnie Covington and David Ashley took the late model heat wins. David Ashley blasted into the lead followed by Sam Patrick. 20 Laps caution free with Ashley up front all the way. Sam Patrick ran a strong second the whole 20 laps followed by Bill Gordon, Davin Bates and Jason Polite.

For further information regarding the 2000 O’Reilly SUPR Series contact Greg Holmes at 225-275-5040 or e-mail us at gholmes@suprracing.com.

About | Schedule | Points | Class Rules | News Archive | Photo Gallery | Contact Us

Baton Rouge Raceway, 1998-2000. All rights reserved.

Designed and Developed by Internet Advantage


SUPR News:
Check out the Latest News on the Southern United Professional Racing Series

SUPR Results

SUPR Points